When grapes turn

to wine, they long for our ability to change.

When stars wheel

around the North Pole,

they are longing for our growing consciousness.

(Old Sufi Proverb)


About the composition:

There are different levels for each activity that is performed.
Substances can be refined in numerous steps.
Skills can be improved level by level.
Ideas manifest themselves in forms of different scales.
Facts can improve or deteriorate infinitely.
Some spiral staircases lead spirally up or down.

Following this course, Delirium Ensemble works with the composers of the Musik Akademie Basel, whose works are worked on in several rehearsal phases. The process of distillation is an essential one: not only are the compositions realized as such, but it is also a search for constant improvement, sublimation and refinement of all forms. This multifaceted workshop of sound, rhythm, structure and consciousness enables collaborative creations that have the potential to profoundly influence the experience of all who come into contact with them. The constant search for new musical and technical possibilities corresponds to the concept of the Delirium Ensemble: Delirium events are not classical concerts, but an attempt to explore new interdisciplinary, multimedia and multi-layered forms of presentation and performance.

The project is based on a close collaboration between composition students and members of the Delirium Ensemble. In addition to the practice-oriented work, a further focus is on instrumental research, with an intensive examination of the development and use of new instruments (e.g. Harry Partch – Canon, 2019). Among other things, the aim is to find out how instruments can be expanded. For the 2nd edition of the Delirium Distillery project series, the guitar is the focus of attention. With the technological support of Johannes Wernicke (Multi-E-Bow), together with the guitar class of Pablo Márquez, the Delirium Ensemble is testing the new development of this multifaceted instrument.


Raphaël Belfiore | Means with the sound from their own ends (2020, UA)
Lina Posėčnaitė | I am not here (2020, UA)
Gitbi Kwon | die Hütte (2020, UA) für Delirium und Pedal Steel Gitarre, E-Gitarre
Oliver Rutz | Dedicated to Wiktor (2020, UA)
(publish subtitle when the piece is played for the second time)
Johannes Kreidler | ›Music-19‹ (2020, UA)
Johannes Walter | chord images (2020, UA)

All compositions are dedicated to the Delirium Ensemble and Wiktor Kociuban.




Gitarrenklasse Pablo Marquez
Delirium Ensemble 
Wiktor Kociuban Conductor & Artistic Director